The freedom of a Christian (2020)

We regret to announce that Lutheran Study Days 2020 has been cancelled. We are working on moving the program to 2021. The cancelled schedule for 2020 is provided below for your information.

In addition, we are working on a video-program for 2020.

The truth will set you free! There are the words of Jesus to human kind. Which powers bind us? Under which power are we kept in bondage? Luther’s writings, To the Christian Nobility of the German Nation, On the Babylonian Captivity of the Church and The Freedom of a Christian – 500 year old this year – are most relevant for our time where darknes closes in and worries rises. God is a God who set people free. Fredom from what? Freedom to what? Welcome to freeing fellowship during the Lutheran Study Days 2020!

Speakers

Schedule

Thursday, August 20

00:00 - 00:00Bound and free: Christ as the end of the law and the life of a Christian
Read more »

Friday, August 21

00:00 - 00:00Freed from worship of death
Read more »

Saturday, August 22

00:00 - 00:00"... with the utmost freedom from fear,..." - Luther (LW 1:73)
Read more »

Sunday, August 23

00:00 - 00:00A faith free from reason? A Lutheran view of reason
Read more »

Monday, August 24

00:00 - 00:00Freedom and a year of the Lord's favour (Isa 61,1f)
Read more »

Tuesday, August 25

00:00 - 00:00Luther on freedom: From what and to what?
Read more »

Wednesday, August 26

00:00 - 00:00The purpose of the reformation: Freeing the conscience
Read more »

Thursday, August 27

00:00 - 00:00Freedom towards other people
Read more »

Friday, August 28

00:00 - 00:00"Remember your congregation, which you have purchased of old, which you have redeemed to be the tribe of your heritage!" - Ps 74:2
Read more »

Saturday, August 29

00:00 - 00:00May grace be bound?: The Lord's Supper
Read more »

Sunday, August 30

00:00 - 00:00Free to be holy
Read more »

Monday, Augusts 31

00:00 - 00:00The promise came before the law (Gal 3:17): Predestined to be set free
Read more »

Tuesday, September 1

00:00 - 00:00A freed ass not a jackass
Read more »

Wednesday, September 2

00:00 - 00:00Christian freedom in light of baptism
Read more »

Thursday, September 3

00:00 - 00:00Free from slavery
Read more »

Friday, September 4

00:00 - 00:00"... we are partly free of the Law and partly under the Law." - Luther (LW 26:349)
Read more »

Saturday, September 5

00:00 - 00:00"... as sorrowful, yet always rejoicing ..." (Cor 6:10 ESV) – Comfort and freedom
Read more »
00:00 - 00:00In statu confessionis: Steadfast for the sake of freedom (Gal 5:1)
Read more »

Sunday, September 6

00:00 - 00:00Worship in Scripture: Delivery and maintenance of a good conscience
Read more »

Monday, September 7

00:00 - 00:00In "... the land of the free and the home of the brave ...": Church life in The New World
Read more »

Tuesday, September 8

00:00 - 00:00Free to be "a living creature" (Gen 2:7 ESV)
Read more »

Wednesday, September 9

00:00 - 00:00The preached Word: Certainty and freedom
Read more »

Thursday, September 10

00:00 - 00:00Freedom: Exercise and misuse
Read more »

Friday, September 11

00:00 - 00:00Mercy for everyday life: Freedom, vocation and suffering in the writings of Bo Giertz
Read more »

Saturday, September 12

00:00 - 00:00Pursuing freedom without having been freed: A concept of a mercyless world
Read more »

Sunday, September 13

00:00 - 00:00Out of the Depths: Freedom, Evil, and Lament
Read more »

Monday, September 14

00:00 - 00:00Freedom from worship of the unholy trinity of me myself and I
Read more »

Tuesday, September 15

00:00 - 00:00Prepared for freedom: Baptismal education in Church and at home
Read more »